top of page
  • Writer's pictureSabrina Irvine

Once Upon A Blog

Updated: May 9

Welcome to my blog! My name is Sabrina Irvine and I live on Treaty 6 Territory in Saskatoon with my family. While I was originally born in Saskatoon, this province has not always been home for me. My childhood was spent moving from town to town as my parents were both ordained ministers, and this quite often meant short-term stints in various small towns across the continent. As children my younger sisters and I often hated the constant moves, we rarely developed long-term friendships and struggled to establish ourselves in communities. I have moved seventeen times throughout my life, although my childhood was a bit chaotic, it presented the unique opportunity to live in four different provinces and we even spent my grade six year in the southern United States. While I could easily take the perspective that this was a crummy way to grow up, I have chosen to shift my perspective to focus on the experiences this lifestyle provided for me and my family. I may not have had many deep friendships, but I met so many different people in different parts of the continent. I experienced the beauty of summers on Lake of the Woods in Ontario and the magical snow globe winters of the prairies. 


My education journey has been a bit unique, in 2012 I completed my Bachelor of Arts in English through Athabasca University and went on to pursue entrepreneurial opportunities as a Dance Studio Owner. I always had intentions of returning to school to obtain an Education Degree, but life always got in the way. In 2022, the desire to pursue a second degree began to rise again within my heart. I began my journey with the University of Regina in September of 2023 and I am currently on track to finish the BEAD program (middle years) in December of 2024.



High quality technology in my grade one classroom.

Educational technology has been a huge part of my post-secondary journey. If it wasn’t for the flexibility of educational technology I’m not entirely sure if I would have ever received post-secondary training. In 2012 I convocated from Athabasca University, a university that operates almost entirely through online and distance learning. I spent five years watching the various platforms and integrations evolve as the technology deepened. Throughout the time I spent at the university, I went from learning my course content from booklets to receiving everything through an online platform. In the early years of my degree, I remember having to visit testing centers for final exams, in the final years of my degree I was able to complete final exams from the comfort of my home using online proctoring technology. Although I have mixed feelings about someone watching me in my home, there is no denying that educational technology has played a role in my journey. I am excited to spend time learning about ways in which technology can effectively be woven into my future classrooms. 


I love writing and have had the opportunity to do a great deal of writing through my English degree. In 2020, I had the opportunity to write weekly blog posts on motherhood for Little Einstein’s Nanny Agency in Saskatoon. At the time this opportunity presented itself, I was going through a bit of an identity crisis, and the writing opportunity provided me with an outlet to express some of the internal struggles I was facing. Blogging has somewhat fallen to the wayside as I have thrown myself into my studies, I am excited to have the opportunity through this course to dedicate some time once again to the art of blogging. 

33 views8 comments

Recent Posts

See All

8 Comments


Guest
Jun 14

Hi Sabrina I loved reading about you and your background! The transition from your Bachelor of Arts to entrepreneurial ventures and back to pursuing education is fascinating to me good for you. And also your passion for writing really came through strongly to me!

Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
Jun 20
Replying to

Thank you for reading my post! I am definitely passionate about a lot of different things. I am excited to jump into the classroom so soon! :)

Like

Guest
May 19

Kudos to you Sabrina, I always enjoy reading your posts You are very strong, focused woman and I applaud you for this. Reading through your post, I read you are finishing the BEAD program in December 2024(Congratulations). How did you do it? I started September 2023 as well, but I plan to finish Winter 2025.

.

Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
Jun 20
Replying to

Thanks for reading my post :) I am excited to be so close to the finish line of this program (it has flown by to be honest).

Like

Dayna Coffey
Dayna Coffey
May 15

Hello Sabrina!

It's nice to meet you. I love your perspective on moving numerous times during your childhood. The fact that you could look at it positively shows your strong and confident character. That will be an excellent quality for your future classroom. Your perspective will help many students in the future.


It's interesting that Athabasca University has had online degrees for quite some time and in order for other universities to follow suit we had to have a pandemic.


Excited to see what else is in store for you this semester!

Dayna

Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
May 15
Replying to

Yes isn't it crazy to think the pandemic brought about so many negative things but the expansion of online learning was definitely a silver lining.

Like

Guest
May 15

Hey Sabrina! I admire your resilience and ability to adapt to new environments that shine through in your story!! It’s clear that your experiences have molded you into a versatile and open-minded individual. Your journey through different provinces and communities must have provided you with a valuable collection of inspiration for your writing. Keep embracing your unique path and using your voice to share your stories- your authenticity and diverse perspectives will surely resonate with others. Keep up the great work and keep writing from your heart!

-Rowena

Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
May 15
Replying to

Thanks for reading Rowena! Yes I would have to agree, I think my various travels have definitely provided inspiration for a great deal of my writing and have molded me into the person I am today.

Like
bottom of page