top of page
Writer's pictureSabrina Irvine

Lazydog Calligraphy

Last week, I explored the YouTube channel The Happy Ever Crafter; I had a pretty solid start to my learning project using worksheets to learn the basic strokes of calligraphy. This week, I decided to check out a calligraphy app called Lazydog on my phone. This app had high reviews on Google Play, so I gave it a whirl. This app is simple to navigate and offers a progression that starts with a demonstration, moves to finger tracing, and then freehand replication of the letters. Here is a quick video demonstration of me navigating the app on my phone.

 




Some of the pros of this app:

  • User friendly

  • Offers progression for the user and even indicates a percentage completed for each font.

  • The ability to try different hand lettering fonts.

  • Downloadable worksheets to print for additional practice.


Some of the cons of this app:

  • This app does not use traditional calligraphy strokes.

  • Tracing with your finger does not necessarily provide the user with practice using different weights and pressures for shadows.

 

After a successful start to my learning project, I had high hopes for this application; however, I feel I learned a lot more from watching video demonstrations and tutorials than from independent learning on an application. I spent more time working through my worksheets from week one and even got a bit creative with some names (see pictures below). I will attempt to do calligraphy names for anyone who comments on this week’s post. Be sure to return next week to see how I did in attempting to write your name creatively.  

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page