top of page
  • Writer's pictureSabrina Irvine

Mom Enters The World Of Minecraft

For my blog post this week, I explored the Hour of Code options on Code.org. I couldn’t believe the number of options to choose from (it was a bit overwhelming, to be honest). I could see this site as a wonderful tool to use in my future classroom, as there are options to fit every possible interest. I decided to explore Minecraft Voyage Aquatic; my four kids are absolutely obsessed with Minecraft, and I thought maybe this would help me gain a bit of perspective on the world they are so wrapped up in.


I must say this was a very humbling experience, I officially lost track of how many times I heard the dreaded running into a wall noise. So yes, this particular coding activity said it was geared at Grade 2 +, but there may be moments in which an adult has to provide a little bit of extra guidance (and by an adult…I clearly am not referring to myself, ha-ha).  Okay joking aside, that was a weirdly an enjoyable activity I can see how people would enjoy coding as a career. There is something satisfying about putting in a set of commands and watching it play out exactly as you designed on the screen in front of you.

As we have learned through this course, technology is woven into so many areas of our lives. Coding is one of those areas that has absolutely ballooned in the last ten years.




As I mentioned in one of my screencast videos, my brother-in-law and sister-in-law both work in the coding field here in Saskatchewan for big companies that are based in other cities. It has become one of the major careers that has transitioned to a work-from-home environment and offers employees the flexibility to work from anywhere in the world. I must admit…the idea of earning a paycheck while sitting on the beaches in Mexico with my laptop does have some appeal to it.


Incorporating coding into our classrooms can be a unique way to dive into unique hands-on learning opportunities with our students. This is also an excellent opportunity to provide differentiated learning to a diverse group of students as it can be adapted and enriched to meet the unique needs of the students in your classroom. Who knows, maybe one of our students will design and launch the next big app after being exposed to coding in our classroom. It would be very neat to know you played even a small part in introducing them to coding.

11 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 commentaires


Invité
14 juin

Hi Sabrina reading your blog post was very cool as I was very excited to explore Minecraft through Hour of Code! Love your personal connection with Minecraft through your kids. Overall, your blog post beautifully blends personal with educational insights. It’s engaging, informative, and relatable. Great job sharing your journey into the world of coding and Minecraft! I look forward to trying myself...

J'aime
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
20 juin
En réponse à

Thanks for checking out my blog post on coding. I had a good laugh when I explained to my kids that I spent the morning on Minecraft coding.

J'aime

Invité
14 juin

Hello Sabrina!

I loved reading your blog post about exploring Minecraft through Hour of Code! Your experience really shows how fun and accessible coding can be, even with the occasional challenges. Your insights into the growing importance of coding in our lives and careers are spot on. It’s inspiring to think about the flexibility coding offers, like working from anywhere in the world. Incorporating coding into the classroom is a fantastic idea. It’s exciting to think we might inspire the next big tech innovator. Thanks for sharing your experience and insights!


Nikol Ostrovski

Modifié
J'aime
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
20 juin
En réponse à

Hey Nikol! It's crazy to think how the world of coding has evolved over the last 15 years. I wonder what it will be like 15 years from now...

J'aime
bottom of page