top of page
Writer's pictureSabrina Irvine

Overwhelmed But In The Best Possible Way

The idea of choosing a skill or hobby to learn was intimidating to me. I’ve always wanted time to dedicate to learning a new skill as an adult but never committed to learning something new. As a busy mom of four, I rarely have time to sit down, let alone tackle a new hobby or skill. When presented with the Learning Project Assignment, I was instantly overwhelmed with ideas; maybe I could brush up on my French skills or get creative in the kitchen by making pasta noodles. This whole thing was overwhelming simply because I finally got to designate time to learn something new, and honestly, I couldn’t decide what direction to go. Ultimately, I decided that it would be pretty fun to do something artistic, something that could also serve as a creative outlet to relieve a bit of stress. I am officially entering the world of calligraphy and hand lettering.


To support my learning journey, I purchased a few necessary supplies: sketchbooks, a set of hand lettering pens, and a set of calligraphy pens. I plan to use YouTube Channel Tutorials, Blogs, and Apps to develop my calligraphy and hand lettering skills. Before diving into this learning project, I admit that my baseline skill level is minimal; most days, I don’t remember cursive writing from elementary school. By learning this skill, I hope to design pretty impressive greeting cards and posters for my future classroom. 


I don’t think I’ve ever been this excited about a post-secondary assignment. The last of my project supplies are set to arrive in the next three days, and I plan to dive into some digital resources this week. On my blogs, I will showcase my progress along the way with photos and videos. Follow along with my learning journey on my blog as I attempt to level up my handwriting skills. 

30 views8 comments

Recent Posts

See All

8 Comments


Guest
Jun 14

Hi Sabrina I am looking forward to catching up on your journey with this! Your blog post is a wonderful start to your learning journey. Your excitement and thorough planning are sure to inspire and engage me. I’m looking forward to seeing your progress and the beautiful creations you’ll undoubtedly produce. Great job!

Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
Jun 20
Replying to

Thanks for following along on my journey to learn calligraphy! :)

Like

Guest
May 31

Hi Sabrina!

I am totally with you. It took me ages to choose something and even this far in I’m not sure I picked the best thing now :( I am jealous of your choice! I love calligraphy and always wanted to try it. I also agree with you that this is the best project I’ve have had as an ed student; I am intrigued by becoming acquainted with my own learning style in a self directed project. It always feels like we are generating a product for classes that must meet certain criteria and that often overtakes any real, authentic learning. With that said, learning something out of my purview/school brain has been way more challenging that anticipated. Anyway,…


Edited
Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
Jun 20
Replying to

Hey Kate! Thanks for checking out my learning project! I am pretty proud of how much progress I have made along the way. Be sure to check out my more recent posts to see my progress.

Like

Guest
May 18

Hi Sabrina!

Your excitement for your learning project is truly contagious! As a busy mom of four, finding time for yourself to learn something new is such an accomplishment in itself. Choosing calligraphy and hand lettering as a creative outlet sounds like a fantastic idea. I can't wait to see your progress and the beautiful creations you'll make. Best of luck on your calligraphy journey—I’m sure it will be both rewarding and relaxing!

Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
Jun 20
Replying to

Thanks for checking out my learning project! I think it will continue to be a creative outlet for me into the future.

Like

Guest
May 15

Hi Sabrina, Calligraphy is something I would like to learn someday. I am sure you will enjoy it and before you know you will be an expert teaching your students in the classroom.

Ola

Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
May 15
Replying to

Hi Ola, Well you better stay tuned to see if I can actually accomplish this successfully. I just opened my big calligraphy set and I am both nervous and excited about what I might get to create. Hopefully by the end of the semester I will have something pretty to showcase.

Like
bottom of page