top of page
  • Writer's pictureSabrina Irvine

Pinterest Inspo

People constantly talk about how much time they spend on Instagram or Facebook, but I have a different problem…Pinterest. For as long as I can remember, Pinterest has inspired nearly every corner of my life, my workout routines, my wardrobe, my interior design and my recipes. In the name of research, I decided to peek at the many boards I have saved on my account. Here are a few of the gems on my list:



If I can learn how to cook a turkey and crush a Spider-Man birthday party from this app, surely, I can find some helpful ways to learn calligraphy. I decided to do a deep dive into the world of calligraphy on Pinterest to see what I could find. I guess, firstly, I should state that many of the resources I have already used can also be found on Pinterest; they really do market themselves to the online world in a multitude of ways. There is no shortage of Pinterest boards dedicated to learning hand lettering and calligraphy. As you can see in the picture below, navigating Pinterest can be a bit overwhelming; at the top of the screen, you will find several different headings which can help you narrow down your search field slightly (i.e. maybe I want to narrow down my search from calligraphy alphabet to beginners’ step by step calligraphy alphabet).  

 

I decided to narrow my search down to hand lettering, and through this narrowed search, I found several great font inspiration photos that I decided to use to drive my learning project this week.  I think it would be awesome if I could use hand-lettering fonts to create classroom posters one day or unique name gifts for each of my students. Since I have used Pinterest for inspiration in almost every other area of my life, I thought it would be cool to compare their version with my version.


Pinterest Inspo Photo (left) My Version (right)


I really like that these three fonts incorporate colors, shapes and sharp lines. They allowed me to incorporate a bit more creativity and fun into my learning project this week. The nice thing about hand lettering is that it can be inspired by a particular design and you can intertwine your own unique twist on it. You can even create your own hand lettering fonts.


As promised I have created name art for anyone who commented on my previous post. It appears like Nikol is the lucky one this week to have her name turned into hand lettering art (inspired by my above experiments with fonts).



14 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

4 Comments


Brodie Ziegler
Brodie Ziegler
Jun 15

Hello Sabrina!

I also love pinterest, my favorite things to find inspiration for is when I get my nails or hair done! As a future teacher I can totally see myself using pinterest for inspiration for my classroom. I love the idea of creating unique name gifts for each of your students.

Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
Jun 20
Replying to

Brodie, You are definitely not alone, I already have classroom Pinterest boards ready for the future.

Like

Guest
Jun 14

Hailey Harris

Hi Sabrina!

I have the same problem with Pinterest! I absolutely love that site for tattoo, makeup, and lesson inspiration. I have been using it for my learning project as well. I have done calligraphy in a past class, but never thought to look on Pinterest for inspiration! You are doing an amazing job! It is so smart to do this for you learning plan, as, like you said, you can use this skill to make fun posters and other things for you classroom!


Keep up the good work!

Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
Jun 20
Replying to

Hi Hailey, Thanks for checking out my blog post. I have a serious Pinterest addiction....it's slightly problematic with all of the boards I have on the go at any given time.

Like
bottom of page