top of page
  • Writer's pictureSabrina Irvine

Tools of the Trade

Updated: Jun 3


This week, I decided to explore the Lightshot Chrome Extension. As someone who has primarily used the print screen function on my keyboard for screenshots, I was pleasantly surprised by how user-friendly this extension is. It's an excellent alternative for those who are new to screenshotting tools. The Lightshot Extension allows users to capture a screenshot of their screen and offers additional functions beyond a simple picture capture (as you will see in my demonstration video). Before saving the image, you can add text, highlights, and even arrows to the screenshot.

 


Once you've finished capturing and editing your screenshot, the Lightshot Extension offers a range of options for exporting or saving it. You can save the image to your computer, upload it directly to social media platforms like X (formerly Twitter) or Pinterest, print the image, or copy and paste it into another application, such as a Word document. This versatility sets the Lightshot Extension apart, taking the simple print screen function to a new level of usefulness.

 

This tool would be particularly useful for capturing online images I want to share with my class later. Perhaps I would add a note to the image to spark conversation with my class or even remind myself why I took this screenshot. The ability to highlight something in the screenshot is handy. At the same time, it is possible to do this separately with a print screen function. The simplicity of doing this all through one extension is a time saver.                                        

9 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Guest
May 22

Hi Sabrina,


I checked out your demonstration of Lightshot, and I'm really grateful you shared it! Lightshot looks easy to navigate, even for those like me who are not accustomed to using technology. I think those extra tools for marking up screenshots are a cool addition to the app, too. Thanks for the tip; I'm excited to try it out myself.


-Rowena

Edited
Like
Sabrina Irvine
Sabrina Irvine
Jun 20
Replying to

Hi Rowena, Yes, it was a fairly user-friendly option. I have used it a few additional times since I originally wrote this post. I can see myself using this in the future as a tech tool in my toolbox.

Like
bottom of page